Miller recalled to Windies ODI squad

2017-12-06 09:14
Nikita Miller (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Left-arm spinner Nikita Miller has been recalled to the West Indies ODI squad for the upcoming series in New Zealand while uncapped fast bowler Ronsford Beaton was also included.

The 35-year-old Miller last played for the Windies at the 2015 World Cup but was chosen on the back of some good form in the regional domestic 50-over tournament where took nine wickets in as many games but importantly only went at 3.67 runs to the over.

The 25-year-old Beaton took 11 wickets in this year's Caribbean Premier League and has been a regular in the West Indies A squads in recent series.

West Indies chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said Millers' inclusion was important as they needed experience with an eye on the World Cup qualifiers that will take place in Zimbabwe in March next year.

Browne said: "Miller has played ODI cricket previously. Along with his vast experience in our domestic competitions, we felt that he is the right fit to form a part of our ODI bowling unit at this time," 

"With the World Cup qualifiers fast approaching, we felt that this is not the right time to introduce an inexperienced slow bowler.

"This series against New Zealand and our CWI Regional Super50 Cup next year are the only chances we will have for preparation prior to the World Cup qualifiers, which are scheduled to be played next March in Zimbabwe.

"So these matches will be used to help us identify the players that will play during the qualifiers, and this is why we have also taken the opportunity to introduce Ronsford Beaton.

"Though, he is more known for his pace and variations in T20I cricket, we believe he can add value within our ODI bowling unit."

Seamer Rayad Emrit has earned a first call-up to the T20I squad which will be captained by Carlos Brathwaite.

West Indies will play three ODIs and three T20Is in New Zealand with the first 50-over contest in Whangarei on 20 December.

West Indies squads:


Jason Holder (captain), Jason Mohammed, Sunil Ambris, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams


Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams

Read more on:    new zealand  |  west indies  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.