Mandhana named ICC women's cricketer of the year

2018-12-31 14:19
Smriti Mandhana
Smriti Mandhana (Getty Images)

New Delhi - India's Smriti Mandhana was crowned women's cricketer of the year on Monday by the sport's world governing body, capping off a prolific run-scoring season for the opener.

The left-handed batswoman was also named ODI cricketer of the year for accumulating 669 runs off 12 one-day internationals (ODIs). She scored 622 runs in 25 T20 matches this year.

Mandhana, 22, is only the second Indian woman to win an International Cricket Council (ICC) award after fast bowler Jhulan Goswami who was named the women's player of the year in 2007.

"The awards are pretty special because as a player when you score runs, you want the team to win, and then when you get acknowledged for your performances through these awards, it motivates you to work harder and do well for your team," Mandhana was quoted as saying in the ICC release.

"The century I scored in South Africa (in Kimberley) was quite satisfying and then I had good home series against Australia and England. A lot of people used to say I do not score that much in India, so I had a point to prove to myself."

READ: Proteas women's duo make ICC ODI Team of the Year

ICC chief executive David Richardson congratulated Mandhana, saying she was "a worthy winner" of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award, named after the legendary English player.

Australia's wicketkeeper-batter Alyssa Healy was voted T20 player of the year after playing an important part in her team's World T20 triumph in the West Indies.

She finished with 225 runs from six matches as Australia beat arch-rivals England in the final.

England's teenage spinner Sophie Ecclestone was named emerging player of the year.

Read more on:    icc  |  david richardson  |  smriti mandhana  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.