Luus named in ICC Women’s Team of the Year

2016-12-22 12:02
Sune Luus (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Proteas women's all-rounder Sune Luus has been named in the inaugural ICC Women's Team of the Year.

Luus, 20, has had an outstanding 12 months for South Africa, passing the 50 ODI wickets mark and also recorded her highest score (60 not out) against Australia.

The team also features two Australians Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry, England's Heather Knight and Anya Shrubshole and India's Smriti Mandhana.

New Zealand's Suzie Bates has been named the ICC Women's ODI and T20I Player of the Year.

The side was selected by a panel consisting of Clare Connor (chairperson), Mel Jones and Shubhangi Kulkarni, who took into account players' performances during the period from September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016.

ICC Chief Executive, David Richardson, said: "This is the first time that the ICC has named a women’s team of the year. Congratulations to Stafanie Taylor and the rest of her team on their selection.

"The quality and depth of the women's game continues to grow year by year, with a number of outstanding performances during the voting period, the selectors must have had an exceptionally difficult task in settling on the final 12 players."

Women’s Team of the Year (in batting order):

1. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

2. Rachel Priest (New Zealand - wicketkeeper)

3. Smriti Mandhana (India)

4. Stafanie Taylor (West Indies - captain)

5. Meg Lanning (Australia)

6. Ellyse Perry (Australia)

7. Heather Knight (England)

8. Deandra Dottin (West Indies)

9. Sune Luus (South Africa)

10. Anya Shrubsole (England)

11. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)

12 woman: Kim Garth (Ireland)

Read more on:    proteas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following Ottis Gibson's firing, who would you like to see handed the new Team Manager role?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.