Kiwis opt to bat after pitch controversy

2017-10-25 10:21
Kane Williamson (Getty)

Pune - New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat against India in the second one-day international on Wednesday after officials gave the Pune match the go-ahead following a pitch-tampering controversy. 

LIVE: India v New Zealand, 2nd ODI

"We'll bat. It looks like a good surface so we'll try to make the most of it first up," said Kiwis skipper Kane Williamson after the coin landed in his favour. 

Williamson said New Zealand would start with the same 11 that stunned India by six wickets in the first ODI in Mumbai on Sunday. 

A win for New Zealand at the Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium in the western city of Pune would see the Kiwis secure the three-match series with a game to spare. 

Indian captain Virat Kohli made one change from the team that lost on Sunday as the hosts, three places above New Zealand in the world rankings, bid to keep the contest alive. 

All-rounder Axar Patel replaces spinner left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav. 

"We wanted to field anyway so it's not such a bad thing," Kohli told broadcasters after losing the toss. 

ICC officials cleared the match to start after India's cricket board banned an official from the ground after he was recorded saying he tampered with the pitch ahead of the game. 

Pandurang Salgaoncar, the pitch manager at the Pune ground, was exposed during an undercover sting by India Today TV. 

He has been suspended and replaced by "a neutral curator" who inspected the pitch and found it to be fine, CK Khanna, acting president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said. 

The third ODI takes place in Kanpur on Sunday. The two sides will then play three T20 matches.



Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult

Read more on:    india  |  new zealand  |  kane williamson  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.