Kapp makes Women's Big Bash League Team of the Year

2019-12-05 11:15
Marizanne Kapp
Marizanne Kapp (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Proteas fast bowler Marizanne Kapp has been selected in the official Women's Big Bash League Team of the Tournament.

According to the official Big Bash League website, Australian journalist Laura Jolly, Head of Big Bash Leagues Alistair Dobson, Australia women's team head coach Matthew Mott, former Australian captain Belinda Clark, former Australia players Lisa Sthalekar and Mel Jones and commentator Alister Nicholson are the judges on the panel.

Kapp, playing for the Sydney Sixers, slotted in at No 8 on the prestigious line-up after grabbing 15 wickets in 14 matches with best figures of 3 for 16.

However, it's her added abilities with the bat that sealed her a spot as the South African scored 232 including two half-centuries.

Each member of the Team of the Tournament will receive a trophy acknowledging their selection.

Meanwhile, South African opener Lizelle Lee ended as fifth-highest run-scorer in the tournament after scoring 475 runs in 14 games including an unbeaten century (103) for the Melbourne Stars.

Proteas all-rounder Mignon du Preez finished in the Top 10 of the batting rankings after making 404 in her 14 games for Melbourne Stars.

The Adelaide Strikers take on the Perth Scorers in the first Women's Big Bash semi-final, while Brisbane Heat host the Melbourne Renegades in a double header on Saturday.

The 2019 Big Bash League team of the tournament:

Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers - New Zealand), Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat), Danni Wyatt (Melbourne Renegades - England), Meg Lanning (Perth Scorchers), Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers), Jess Duffin (Melbourne Renegades), Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat), Marizanne Kapp (Sydney Sixers - South Africa), Molly Strano (Melbourne Renegades), Megan Schutt (Adelaide Strikers), Belinda Vakarewa (Hobart Hurricanes)

- Compiled by Lynn Butler

Read more on:    proteas  |  big bash league  |  marizanne kapp  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.