Jadeja upgraded by BCCI

2017-03-22 17:42
Ravindra Jadeja (AFP)

Cape Town - Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja has been rewarded for a remarkable season for India with a grade A contract from the BCCI.

Joining him in being bumped up to a top level contract are opener Murali Vijay and number three Cheteshwar Pujara who recently scored a double ton against Australia.

Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Ravi Ashwin and Ajinkya Rahane have all retained their grade A status. The new contracts will see top players earning an enhanced retainer worth in the region of US$305,000 per year.

KL Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Wriddhiman Saha and Jasprit Bumrah have been awarded grade B contracts while Rohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav have all retained their second tier contracts.

Shikhar Dhawan and Ambati Rayudu have dropped down one grade from the last assessment and have been awarded grade C contracts while the BCCI have not handed new contracts to Suresh Raina, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Varun Aaron, Karn Sharma, Arvind Sreenath and Harbhajan Singh.

Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jayant Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Shardul Thakur and Rishabh Pant have been put on retainer for the first time while veterans Ashish Nehra and Parthiv Patel will see their grade C deals as an indication from the BCCI that they are still of use to the national team.

Grade A: Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, R Ashwin, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, M Vijay
Grade B: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuvraj Singh
Grade C: Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Amit Mishra, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, Ashish Nehra, Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Parthiv Patel, Jayant Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shardul Thakur, Rishabh Pant

Read more on:    india  |  bcci  |  ravindra jadeja  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.