Ireland bowl in rain-affected 1st ODI

2016-08-18 14:17
William Porterfield (Getty Images)

Malahide - Ireland captain William Porterfield won the toss in the first one-day international against Pakistan in Malahide on Thursday and elected to field.

Rain, which led to a wet outfield, had reduced the match to a 47 overs per side contest from the scheduled 50.

Ireland made just one change to the team that won the last ODI against Afghanistan last month to tie the series at 2-2, with the experienced Niall O'Brien returning from injury to replace Sean Terry

Pakistan included two debutants in spin-bowling all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz and seamer Hasan Ali, in a side captained by Azhar Ali, their limited overs skipper.

There is also a return to ODI side for the first time in 16 months for the experienced Umar Gul. But paceman Wahab Riaz and leg-spinner Yasir Shah, who both featured in the recent 2-2 drawn Test series against England, were omitted.

This is the first of a two-match series, with the teams set to return to Malahide, near Dublin, on Saturday ahead of Pakistan's five-match ODI campaign in England.


Ireland: William Porterfield (captain), Ed Joyce, John Anderson, Niall O'Brien (wkt), Kevin O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, Peter Chase

Pakistan: Azhar Ali (captain), Babar Azam, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Sarfraz Ahmed (wkt), Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Gul

Umpires: Simon Fry (AUS), Mark Hawthorne (IRL)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    ireland  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.