IPL 2019 will be hosted in India, not SA

2019-01-08 13:15
ab de villiers royal challenges bangalore
AB de Villiers (Getty Images)

New Delhi - The 2019 Indian Premier League will be held in India, the cricket board said on Tuesday, quelling speculation that the Twenty20 extravaganza could be held elsewhere owing to a clash with a general election.

The money-spinning competition that lasts two months would be held from March 23 with a detailed schedule to be announced later, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said.

The announcement comes amid widespread reports that the IPL could be moved out of the country due to security concerns as India is to hold general elections by May.

"Based on preliminary discussions with the appropriate central and state authorities, it was decided that the 12th edition of the world's most popular and competitive T20 tournament will be played in India," BCCI said in a statement.

In 2014 when the country last held national polls, the UAE hosted the first two weeks of the IPL.

The entire 2009 edition took place in South Africa, again to avoid a clash with elections.

State governments say providing security for the IPL is a challenge at a time when they are preoccupied with election duty in the country of 1.25 billion people.

Top international stars, huge pay cheques and Bollywood stars have made the IPL the biggest franchise-based Twenty20 competition in the world.

Last month, little-known Indian mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy hit the jackpot at the IPL auction, being snared for $1.2 million by Kings XI Punjab.

Read more on:    ipl  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.