India women seal T20 series with victory at Newlands

2018-02-24 17:31
Mithali Raj (Getty)

Cape Town - India clinched the Cricket South Africa (CSA) women’s T20 series with an emphatic, 54-run victory over the Proteas at Newlands on Saturday.

They concluded their outing with a 3-1 win after the fourth match was washed out in Centurion on Wednesday. 

Mithali Raj was the Player of the Match and the Player of the Series after she hit a 50-ball 62 runs (8x4s, 3x6s), following up on her back-to-back half-centuries in the first two matches of the series.

She, along with Jemimah Rodrigues (44 off 34 balls) and Harmanpreet Kaur (27* off 17) set up the visitors’ competitive 166/4 after they were put in to bat first. 

Breakthroughs were a struggle to come by for the hosts as India’s top order took advantage of their boundary options and maintained a good strike rate.

Marizanne Kapp (1/22), Shabnim Ismail (1/35) and Ayabonga Khaka (1/41) were the only bowlers who managed to strike, Kapp also getting the run out of Veda Krishnamurthy (8) off the last ball of the innings. 

In comparison, South Africa’s start with the bat did not go as planned. They found themselves in early trouble when they lost their top five for just 44 runs in 8.5 overs.

Their highest individual score was 27 runs from number seven batter, Kapp (27 off 21 balls), followed by Chloe Tryon’s 25 off 17 balls. 

India’s Shikha Pandey (3/16), Rajeshwari Gayakwad (3/26) and Rumeli Dhar (3/26) took nine wickets between them, with Poonam Yadav (1/25) chipping in with one to wrap up the hosts and the series in convincing fashion.

Read more on:    proteas women  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.