India win toss, opt to bowl in second Sri Lanka T20

2020-01-07 15:42
virat kohli
Virat Kohli (Getty Images)

Indore - India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl first in the second Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka Tuesday in Indore.

The hosts have retained their XI from the opening T20 game that was abandoned without a ball being bowled because of a rain-hit pitch.

Kohli said the team is looking to identify young talent for the T20 World Cup in Australia starting October.

"Pretty much on track," Kohli said of India's preparation for the shortest format's showpiece event.

"The main focus is to see youngsters take up the pressure. Need to see who can do that, in big games, we need 11 fit players ready to go."

Sri Lanka captain Lasith Malinga said he is keen to get his bowling act together in the limited-overs format.

"I'm concentrating on white-ball cricket over the last couple of years, just want to do well with my lines and lengths," said the veteran paceman.

"We don't have too much time to give opportunities to others. We are also playing the same XI as the last match."


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (capt), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Oshada Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara

Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (IND), Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

TV umpire: Nitin Menon (IND)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  virat kohli  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.