India win toss, opt to bowl in first Sri Lanka T20

2020-01-05 15:43
Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Getty Images)

Guwahati - Rain delayed the start after India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl in the opening Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka in Guwahati on Sunday.

Fit-again paceman Jasprit Bumrah returns to the team at the start of the three-match series after recovering from his stress fracture of the back.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan also returns from injury to partner KL Rahul in the absence of the rested Rohit Sharma.

Kohli said the team is keen to focus on the shortest format with the T20 World Cup scheduled in Australia later this year.

"The last time we played here, we chased well... The track does play differently in the second half as compared to the first part," Kohli said at the toss.

"Last year was outstanding for us in two formats (Tests and ODIs), T20s not so much. We have World Cup to look forward to, so we can primarily focus on one format."

Sri Lanka captain Lasith Malinga is playing three fast bowlers and two spinners as his team looks to finalise its squad for the T20 World Cup.

"Happy to bat first. Don't think the track will change too much," said Malinga.

"We have brought 16 players as we need to fine-tune our combination for the World Cup... Need five genuine bowlers to put pressure on India."


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (capt), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Oshada Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara

Umpires: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND), Nitin Menon (IND)

TV umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.