India win toss, bowl in third T20 v Sri Lanka

2017-12-24 16:05
Rohit Sharma (AP)

Mumbai - India skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to bowl first in the third and final Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka in Mumbai on Sunday.

LIVE: India v Sri Lanka, 3rd T20

The visitors, who have an unassailable 2-0 lead, have made two changes to their XI as they aim for a series sweep at the Wankhede Stadium.

Debutant allrounder Washington Sundar and rookie paceman Mohammed Siraj come into the side, replacing Yuzvendra Chahal and Jasprit Bumrah, who have been rested.

"We want to finish on a high. It's been a great home season for us ... Want to come out and put a smile on their (the spectators') faces," Sharma said at the toss.

Sri Lanka captain Thisara Perera said he was hoping his team would end its tour of India with a consolation victory, having lost the Test, one-day and T20 series to the hosts.

"(I have) already told my team-mates to give 100 percent and keep their confidence up. Hope the boys can do something special tonight," said Perera.

All-rounders Danushka Gunathilaka and Dasun Shanaka replace Chaturanga de Silva and the injured Angelo Mathews, who has been ruled out for two weeks after injuring his hamstring in the second T20.



Rohit Sharma (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka

Thisara Perera (captain), Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Asela Gunaratne, Dasun Shanaka, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep

Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (IND) and Nitin Menon (IND)

TV Umpire: CK Nandan (IND)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.