India win toss, bowl in MCG ODI decider

2019-01-18 06:43
Virat Kohli (AP)

Melbourne - India won the toss and opted to bowl in the third and final one-day international against Australia in Melbourne on Friday.

LIVE: Australia v India, 3rd ODI

The winner will take the series after Australia won the opening match in Sydney by 34 runs and India levelling with a six-wicket win in Adelaide.

Australia made two changes with leg-spinner Adam Zampa coming in for Nathan Lyon and speedster Billy Stanlake replacing Jason Behrendorff, who has a sore back.

India made three changes to their team with Mohammed Siraj making way for ODI debutant Vijay Shankar, wrist-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal for Kuldeep Yadav and all-rounder Kedar Jadhav for Ambati Rayudu.

"It's quite overcast. It's going to be stop-start, with the rain around, and as a batsman we are never in, so that's the idea," India captain Virat Kohli said.

"We've had a good tour and we want to finish on a high.

"Levelling the series was important, now both the teams are set up for the decider. All the boys are motivated for the game."

Australian skipper Aaron Finch said he would have chosen to bowl if he had won the toss.

"There might be a touch of moisture but it's still a good surface," he said.

"It's been an exciting couple of weeks, a great win in Sydney and a really good game in Adelaide. We're ready to go for the series decider."



Aaron Finch (captain), Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Peter Siddle, Adam Zampa


Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal

Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG), Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV Umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    india  |  australia  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.