India win toss, bowl in lone Sri Lanka T20

2017-09-06 17:11
Virat Kohli (Getty)

Colombo - India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl first in the only Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka in Colombo on Wednesday.

The visitors, who are seeking a complete sweep after winning the Test and one-day series 3-0 and 5-0 respectively, have made two changes from the last ODI at the same venue.

Batsman Lokesh Rahul and left-arm spinner Axar Patel make the starting lineup in place of Ajinkya Rahane and fast bowler Shardul Thakur.

Sri Lanka skipper Upul Tharanga said his team was keen to "finish on a winning note" at the R Premadasa Stadium.

Dasun Shanka, Isuru Udana, Thisara Perera and Seekugge Prasanna have been included in Sri Lanka's playing XI.


Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga (captain), Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Dilshan Munaweera, Ashan Priyanjan, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Seekkuge Prasanna, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana.

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Rohit Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Umpires: Ranmore Martinesz (SRI), Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI)

TV Umpire: Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  virat kohli  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.