India win toss, bowl in 2nd Bangladesh T20

2019-11-07 15:33
Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Getty Images)

Rajkot - India skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl in the second of the three Twenty20 internationals against Bangladesh in Rajkot on Thursday.

The hosts, who trail the series 1-0, have fielded an unchanged side from their opening loss in Delhi on Sunday.

"Rajkot's always been a good track despite some cracks. Think there may be dew later, so life will be easier for the batsmen," Sharma, who is set to play his 100th T20 for India, said at the toss.

"The set of boys we have are new and I want to make them comfortable. When you have a score in front of you, then the batsmen know what sort of tempo they need to bat with.

"No changes because our performances in the last game were right up there, barring a few mistakes."

India posted 148-6 while batting first in the opening game before wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim anchored Bangladesh's chase with his unbeaten 60.

Bangladesh retained their winning XI from the first game, with captain Mahmudullah Riyad saying the Rajkot fixture was a "good opportunity" to clinch the series.

"I would have loved to bowl first too but now will want to put some runs on the board," said Mahmudullah.

"It's a good opportunity for all of us (to win the series). Important for the senior players to do well. Even the youngsters have done well."


India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed

Bangladesh: Mahmudullah Riyad (capt), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain

Umpires: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND), Nitin Menon (IND)

TV Umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    india  |  bangladesh  |  rohit sharma  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.