India win toss, bat against Windies

2016-07-21 16:52
Virat Kohli (File)

North Sound - Indian captain Virat Kohli won the toss and decided to bat first against the West Indies on the first day of the first Test at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua on Thursday.

West Indies have not defeated India in Test cricket for 14 years since the end of the 2002 series in the Caribbean and are the decided underdogs for the first meeting with these opponents on home soil for five years.

Roston Chase, the 24-year-old batsman from Barbados, has been selected for a Test debut in a West Indies line-up that includes two frontline bowlers in pacer Shannon Gabriel and leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo alongside medium-pace bowling all-rounders Jason Holder, the captain, and Carlos Brathwaite.

India have opted for a bowling attack comprising three pacers and two spinners, omitting Ravindra Jadeja in preference to Amit Mishra to work in tandem with Ravichandran Ashwin as a specialist slow bowler.

West Indies' last Test series was a 2-0 defeat in Australia at the end of 2015 while India's previous campaign was a 3-0 home drubbing of South Africa that ended in early December.


West Indies - Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite, Rajindra Chandrika, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Carlos Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Shannon Gabriel.

India - Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SLK)

Read more on:    india  |  west indies  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.