India win toss, ask England to bat in 1st ODI

2018-07-12 13:41
Virat Kohli (Supplied)
Virat Kohli (Supplied)

Nottingham - India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to field against England in the first one-day international at Trent Bridge on Thursday.

England were forced into making a change, with opener Alex Hales ruled out of a match on his Nottinghamshire home ground due to a side strain suffered batting in the nets on Wednesday.

Jonny Bairstow was promoted to open alongside Jason Roy, while Test captain Joe Root - left out of the side beaten by India as the tourists completed a 2-1 Twenty20 series win in Bristol last weekend - was in the team at number three, with all-rounder Ben Stokes due to bat at number five.

India gave an ODI debut to Siddarth Kaul, a 28-year-old medium-pacer who has previously played two Twenty20 internationals.

This is the first of a three-match series that continues at Lord's on Saturday and concludes at Headingley on Tuesday.

England's most recent ODI at Trent Bridge saw Hales make 147 in an all-time men's record total of 481 for six during a 242-run win against Australia on June 19.



Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood


Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (captain), Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Siddarth Kaul, Yuzvendra Chahal

Umpires: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI), Tim Robinson (ENG)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    india  |  england  |  virat kohli  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.