India win toss and bowl against Australia

2017-10-07 15:55
Virat Kohli (Getty)

Ranchi - India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl in the first Twenty20 international against Australia in Ranchi on Saturday.

The hosts, who recently clinched the one-day series against the Steve Smith-led side 4-1, have made two changes from their last ODI in Nagpur on Sunday.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan, who missed the ODIs to be with his ailing wife, and left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav make the cut for the first game of the three-match series.

"T20 is a format where you can't take any team lightly, let alone Australia who are really good," Kohli said at the toss.

Australia's stand-in captain David Warner said he is "honoured" to lead the T20 side after Smith had to fly back home to recover from a shoulder injury.

Left-arm quick Jason Behrendorff makes his international debut for the visitors. Allrounders Moises Henriques and Dan Christian also make the starting XI.

"Time to start fresh. Looks a great wicket, we've to come out and bat first and bat well," said Warner.



Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar


David Warner (captain), Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Dan Christian, Tim Paine, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff

Umpires: Nitin Menon (IND) and Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

TV Umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match Referee: Sir Richie Richardson (WIS)

Read more on:    india  |  australia  |  virat kohli  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.