India to bat first against NZ without Kohli

2020-02-02 09:58
Rohit Sharma (Getty Images)
Rohit Sharma (Getty Images)

Mount Maunganui - India won the toss and opted to bat as they look to sweep the series in the fifth and final Twenty20 Sunday against New Zealand at Mount Maunganui.

Rohit Sharma is captaining the tourists with Virat Kohli being rested, while regular New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson remains sidelined by a shoulder injury.

It's rare for India to choose to bat first as they prefer to chase a total, but Sharma said they wanted the challenge of setting a target.

"It looks like a good pitch and something that we want to challenge as a team -- posting a total and defending it," he said, adding they were not complacent.

"We can't afford to do that. The last two (super over) games were really good for us and showed we can handle pressure."

The inclusion of Sharma for Kohli is the only change for India, while New Zealand have retained the line up that lost game four.

The one blight on the India performance came after the fourth match when they were fined 40 percent of their match fee for a too-slow over rate.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tim Seifert, Ross Taylor, Tom Bruce, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (capt), Scott Kuggeleijn, Hamish Bennett

India: Sanju Samson, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (capt), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah

Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL), Shaun Haig (NZL)

TV Umpire: Ashley Mehrotra (NZL)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more on:    india  |  new zealand  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.