India to bat against NZ in first ODI

2017-10-22 10:24
Virat Kohli (Getty)

Mumbai - Indian captain Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat first in the opening one-day international against New Zealand at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium on Sunday.

"It looks a good wicket to bat on; to come out and bowl again with this humidity will make it a tough day," Kohli told broadcasters after the coin landed in his favour.

Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson said he also would have chosen to bat but backed his pace bowlers to give India's batsmen a tough outing in the first game of the three-match series.

"We would have had a bat as well. (But) our seamers are experienced -- (Tim) Southee, (Trent) Boult and (Adam) Milne," said the 27-year-old batsman.

India, ranked second in the world in 50-over cricket, defeated the Black Caps 3-2 in last year's ODI series.

The hosts can regain the top spot from South Africa if they win this year's contest 3-0.

The second ODI takes place in Pune on Wednesday, with the third in Kanpur on October 29.

The two sides will then play three T20 matches.



Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult

Read more on:    india  |  new zealand  |  virat kohli  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.