India sent in by Australia

2016-01-29 11:06
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Gallo)

Melbourne - Australian captain Aaron Finch won the toss and chose to bowl in the second Twenty20 international against India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday.

Australia went into the match with a makeshift side, with star batsman Stephen Smith and opener David Warner both rested to prepare for the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

The home side named three international Twenty20 debutants, spinner Nathan Lyon, medium pacer Andrew Tye and fast bowler Scott Boland.

India named the same team which beat Australia by 37 runs in the first match of the three-game series in Adelaide on Tuesday.


Australia - Aaron Finch (captain), Shaun Marsh, Chris Lynn, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Scott Boland, Andrew Tye, Nathan Lyon

India - Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra

Umpires: Simon Fry (AUS), Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV Umpire: John Ward (AUS)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.