India resist Australia overtures for day-night Test

2018-04-30 07:51
Cricket Australia

Sydney - Australian cricket chiefs are still trying to convince reluctant India to play a day-night Test in Adelaide this year after releasing their international playing schedule on Monday. 

Cricket Australia have scheduled the opening Test of the four-Test India series in Adelaide from December 6-10, with hopes it will be a pink ball match following concept successes against New Zealand, South Africa and England in recent years. 

Australia believes day-night Test cricket is the future of the sport and perhaps the only way to save the format despite boom television ratings and record crowds. 

But the powerful Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have so far resisted CA's overtures. 

CA will play a pink-ball Test against Sri Lanka in Brisbane from January 24-28 next year, but chief executive James Sutherland said he was still negotiating with India. 

"It is our preference that we play India in a day-night Test match in Adelaide, but we are still working through this detail and hope to have an answer on this in the coming weeks," he said. 

Sutherland has been pushing hard at International Cricket Council level for the new Test Championship schedule to include day-night Tests, but the powerful BCCI has a big say in outcomes. 

CA confirmed Australia will face South Africa in a Twenty20 international on Queensland's Gold Coast, while the new Perth Stadium and Canberra's Manuka Oval will both host Test cricket for the first time. But Hobart misses out. 

The international season starts on November 4 with the first of three ODIs against South Africa before the one-off T20 against the Proteas on the Gold Coast, which will be followed by three T20s against India preceding the start of the Test summer. 

"Our men's international season structure changes slightly this summer, with one-day and T20 international matches against South Africa and India in November," Sutherland said. 

Adelaide opens the Test series against India for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and Perth Stadium will host the second Test, before the series moves back to Melbourne and Sydney for the traditional Boxing Day and New Year's showpiece games. 

Following the Tests, there will be three ODIs against India in a seven-day window before a two-Test series against Sri Lanka in Brisbane under lights at the Gabba and a second match in Canberra.

International dates:

South Africa

Tour match: PM's XI v South Africa, Manuka Oval, Canberra, October 31

First ODI: Perth Stadium, November 4

Second ODI: Adelaide Oval, November 9

Third ODI: Blundstone Arena, Hobart, November 11

T20: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast, November 17


First T20: Gabba, November 21

Second T20: Melbourne Cricket Ground, November 23

Third T20: Sydney Cricket Ground, November 25

First Test: Adelaide Oval, December 6-10

Second Test: Perth Stadium, December 14-18

Third Test: MCG, December 26-30

Fourth Test: SCG, January 3-7

First ODI: SCG, January 12

Second ODI: Adelaide Oval, January 15

Third ODI: MCG, January 18

Sri Lanka

First Test: Gabba, January 24-28 (D/N)

Second Test: Manuka Oval, February 1-5

Read more on:    cricket australia  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.