India name squad for Champions Trophy

2017-05-08 09:27
virat kohli
Virat Kohli (Getty Images)

New Delhi - India brought fit-again fast bowler Mohammed Shami back into their squad to defend the ICC Champions Trophy after ending their battle with the world governing body over financial conditions.

Shami and batsman Rohit Sharma are the only two changes from the team that played England in a three-match one-day series in India this year.

Shami was brought in at the expense of leg-spinner Amit Mishra while Sharma replaced Lokesh Rahul, who is recuperating from a shoulder surgery last month.

India's participation in the premier 50-over tournament, to be played in England and Wales from June 1, had been in doubt after its powerful cricket board fought the International Cricket Council (ICC) over revenue sharing.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) missed the April 25 deadline to announce a squad and threatened a boycott over the dispute.

The BCCI, the world's wealthiest cricket board, held a special general meeting on Sunday where members unanimously decided to take part in the Champions Trophy.

The BCCI is furious over the ICC's decision last month to amend rules so that less money and power is held by cricket's major powers - England, India and Australia.

The BCCI stands to lose $277 million in revenue over the next eight years under the sweeping changes.

The BCCI's use of the Champions Trophy as a bargaining chip was strongly criticised and Indian cricketing greats including Sachin Tendulkar urged the country to compete.

The three-member selection panel avoided any major surprises, offering little joy to youngsters like Rishabh Pant despite his fine show in the Indian Premier League.

Pant, 19, was named among five players kept on standby, with Suresh Raina, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur and Dinesh Karthik.

India, who beat England in the 2013 final, take on arch-rivals Pakistan in their opening game on June 4.

India squad:

Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey

Read more on:    icc  |  virat kohli  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.