India insert Zimbabwe in 1st T20

2016-06-18 13:21
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (AFP)

Harare - Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first as an inexperienced Indian side started its three-match Twenty20 international series against Zimbabwe at Harare Sports Club on Saturday.

With just six members of India's 16-man squad boasting international experience in the shortest format, the tourists named five debutants.

Batsmen KL Rahul and Mandeep Singh, allrounder Rishi Dhawan, and bowlers Jaydev Unadkat and Yuzvendra Chahal all made their Twenty20 international bows.

After being whitewashed 3-0 in an embarrassingly one-sided ODI series, Zimbabwe's hopes of bouncing back in the Twenty20s were dented by the unavailability of Craig Ervine, Sean Williams and Vusi Sibanda due to injury.

Allrounder Tinotenda Mutombodzi was recalled for his first Twenty20 international match in over three years, while Sikandar Raza Butt returned to the batting lineup after being dropped for the final ODI.


Zimbabwe: Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Sikandar Raza Butt, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Richmond Mutumbami, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Graeme Cremer (captain), Neville Madziva, Tawanda Mupariwa, Donald Tiripano.

India: KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Axar Patel, Rishi Dhawan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Umpires: Jeremiah Matibiri (ZIM), Russell Tiffin (ZIM)

TV umpire: Langton Rusere (ZIM)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)

Read more on:    india  |  mahendra singh dhoni  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.