India elect to bat in fourth Australia ODI

2019-03-10 10:08
Virat Kohli (AP)

Chandigarh - India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth one-day international against Australia in Chandigarh on Sunday.

The hosts, who lead the five-match series 2-1, have made four changes in their bid to clinch the series.

Rising star Rishabh Pant will keep wicket for the rested Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Batsman KL Rahul, paceman Bhuvneshwar Kumar and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal also return to the starting line-up.

"Looks like a belter of a pitch. Can't really predict when the dew is going to come, if at all it's going to come," Kohli said at the toss.

"Australia has to win the match, so let's put them under pressure. We have to be good enough to bowl with a wet ball."

Australia have made two changes to the side that won the third ODI on Friday with Ashton Turner and Jason Behrendorff replacing Marcus Stoinis and Nathan Lyon.

"Looks like a good pitch. Should stay the same throughout the game," said captain Aaron Finch, who admitted his intention was to bat first had he won the toss.

"We want to win the series, but going forward it's about getting the processes right."

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, K.L. Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey, Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI), Anil Chaudhary (IND)

TV Umpire: Joel Wilson (WIS)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.