Cricket

ICC charges Windies' Gabriel over anti-gay slur

2019-02-12 22:33
Shannon Gabriel (Getty Images)

Gros Islet - The International Cricket Council (ICC) has charged West Indies bowler Shannon Gabriel after he was accused by England captain Joe Root of making a homophobic comment.

In the third Test in St. Lucia on Monday, Root was picked up on a broadcast feed saying to Gabriel: "Don't use it as an insult. There's nothing wrong with being gay." The preceding comment by Gabriel could not be heard on the clip posted by British broadcaster Sky Sports.

The ICC said on Tuesday that Gabriel had been charged with a breach of its code of conduct. The governing body tweeted that "the charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by match referee Jeff Crowe."

British sports minister Mims Davies praised Root "for doing the absolute right thing to properly call this out."

Root married Carrie Cotterell in December.

Read more on:    england  |  west indies  |  joe root  |  shannon gabriel  |  cricket

 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

 
 
Men
Women
Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

Featured

The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs
Vote

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

 
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.