Guptill out as NZ bowl in 5th ODI against India

2019-02-03 06:59
Martin Guptill (Gallo)

Wellington - New Zealand were forced into a late top-order reshuffle on Sunday as they prepared to bowl first in the fifth and final one-day international against India in Wellington.

Martin Guptill was ruled out with a back injury and has been replaced by Colin Munro, who was dropped for the fourth ODI, which New Zealand won, after a string of failures.

India lead the series overall 3-1.

The inclusion of Munro is the only change in the New Zealand side with swing bowler Tim Southee again unwanted.

India have MS Dhoni back behind the stumps after the master finisher missed the previous two matches because of a hamstring twinge, and they have also brought back quick bowler Mohammed Shami.

India skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat, saying his side needed to make amends after a disappointing 92 when batting first in the previous match.

"The average score here is around 230-240, but if you bat well you can get 300," Sharma said.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said he was happy with the toss outcome because he wanted to bowl first "to see if we can get a bit out of the pitch early on".

New Zealand: Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Trent Boult

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal

Umpires: Shaun George (RSA), Wayne Knights (NZL)

TV Umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    india  |  new zealand  |  martin guptill  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.