Fresh faces on CSA umpire panels

2016-07-12 13:05
Bongani Jele (right) (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday announced their ICC International Panel Umpires, National Panel of Umpires, Amateur Panel and Match Referees Panel for the 2016/17 season.

Bongani Jele has been promoted to the ICC TV Panel following the promotion of Adrian Holdstock to the ICC International Panel of Umpires, joining colleague Shaun George.

“Bongani’s elevation is well deserved,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat, “and it once again proves that sterling performances will be rewarded. He has done exceptionally well to be promoted at such a young age (30).

“Congratulations to all our umpires on their deserved appointments for the approaching season,” added  Lorgat.

“Umpires are central to the game of cricket and we are fortunate to have an extremely competent group of match officials.

“We will continue to create opportunities for them to develop through our exchange programmes with Australia, India and New Zealand.”

Former first-class player Arno Jacobs, Siphelele Gasa and Thomas Makorosi have all been selected to serve on the Amateur Panel after displaying continued high quality performances and practical competencies in the CSA Umpires Acceleration Programme and at the various CSA Select Tournaments.

National First-Class Panel:

Murray Brown, Johan Cloete, Marais Erasmus* (ICC Elite Panel Umpire), Lubabalo Gcuma, Shaun George, Stephen Harris , Adrian Holdstock, Cliffie Isaacs, Bongani Jele, Allahudien Paleker, Gerrie Pienaar, Dennis Smith, Brad White                  

Amateur Panel:

Rudi Birkenstock, Hassen Dawood, Siphelele Gasa, Gladman Gaseba, Ryan Hendricks, Arno Jacobs, Marlon Jansen, Kevin Lawrence, Lester Leendertz, Thomas Makorosi, Bryan Mantle, Jack Morton, Bongani Ntshebe, Stephen Rex, Jurie Sadler, Faizel Samsoodien, Abdoellaah Steenkamp, Irvin Van Kerwel, Phillip Vosloo, Laurance Willemse, Jeff Wolhuter             

Match Referee Panel:

Tiffie Barnes, Devdas Govindjee, Barry Lambson, Shaid Wadvalla

Read more on:    csa  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.