Excitement builds for SA's T20 team owners

2017-06-16 17:41
Haroon Lorgat (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - It's exciting times for the T20 Global League and only a matter of days before the world gets to meet the eight team owners who have earned the right to be part of cricketing history.

All eyes will be on London on Monday, June 19 when Cricket South Africa (CSA) will officially announce the eight team owners for the T20 Global League, a brand new T20 League that will kick off in South Africa in November.

Adding to the fan’s anticipation is the growing list of names of some of the best T20 players in the world that have expressed their interest to play in the #T20GL.

Almost 400 players, and counting, from 10 countries have put their names into the hat ahead of the player draft on August 19.

This includes 162 international players who have played one format or another of international cricket in recent time.

"We are really starting to feel the excitement of the T20 Global League build as we close in on a major milestone in our preparation - that of the owner's announcement," said CSA chief executive, Haroon Lorgat.

"The reveal of the team owners will be momentous for CSA and at the same time will showcase the high quality T20 Global League that we’re building."

"Judging from the big player names already registered, it is clear that there is incredible interest from cricket stars around the world who are ready to hit the pitch in November, and are as enthusiastic as we are to get the ball rolling, or bowling, so to speak," concluded Lorgat.

The event will be streamed live on the T20 Global League's Facebook page from 14:00 SA time as well as and the CSA You Tube channel, with many cricket celebrities and sports stars expected to attend.

*Sport24 journalist Lloyd Burnard will be attending the launch as a guest of CSA...

Read more on:    t20 global league  |  haroon lorgat  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.