England opt to bowl against Sri Lanka

2016-06-26 11:32
Eoin Morgan (Getty Images)

Bristol - England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to field against Sri Lanka in the third one-day international at Bristol on Sunday.

England made one change from the side that won Friday's second ODI at Edgbaston by 10 wickets, with pace bowling all-rounder Chris Jordan replacing off-spinner Moeen Ali.

That left in-form leg-spinner Adil Rashid as the only specialist slow bowler in England's XI.

This was Jordan's first match at this level since he featured against South Africa at Centurion in February.

Sri Lanka recalled seam-bowling all-rounder Dasun Shanaka in place of off-spinning all-rounder Suraj Randiv.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews, struggling with a hamstring problem, was passed fit to play.

Dinesh Chandimal, who suffered a hamstring injury while batting at Edgbaston, was included.

But it was uncertain at the toss whether he would also keep wicket, with fellow gloveman Kusal Perera, a top-order batsman, having deputised behind the stumps on Friday.

England lead the five-match series 1-0 after Tuesday's first ODI at Trent Bridge was tied.


England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wkt), Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal (wkt), Angelo Mathews (capt), Dasun Shanaka, Farveez Maharoof, Seekkuge Prasanna, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal

Umpires: Paul Reiffel (AUS), Tim Robinson (ENG)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (ENG)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  england  |  eoin morgan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.