England bowl against Windies in 4th ODI

2017-09-27 13:28
Eoin Morgan (Getty Images)

London - England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to field in the fourth one-day international against the West Indies at The Oval on Wednesday.

England made three changes to the side that won the third ODI by 124 runs at Bristol on Sunday, with Moeen Ali making a blistering century, featuring eight sixes, as the hosts went 2-0 up in this five-match series.

They had already announced that Ben Stokes would be dropped after the all-rounder was arrested early on Monday in Bristol, with batsman Alex Hales, who was with him on Sunday night, also missing out.

The 26-year-old Stokes remains under investigation after being released without charge.

Jason Roy returned on his Surrey home ground to take Hales' place, with batsman Sam Billings - only called into the squad on Tuesday - replacing Stokes.

England made another change as they went in search of a series-clinching win, with Nottinghamshire paceman Jake Ball - like Stokes included in the Ashes Test squad announced earlier Wednesday - coming in for Yorkshire left-armer David Willey.

West Indies made one change, with fast bowler Alzarri Joseph chosen for his first appearance of the series instead of leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo.



Jonny Bairstow, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Sam Billings, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jake Ball

West Indies

Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Marlon Samuels, Jason Mohammed, Rovman Powell, Jason Holder (captain), Ashley Nurse, Jerome Taylor, Alzarri Joseph, Miguel Cummins

Umpires: Rob Bailey (ENG), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Simon Fry (AUS)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Read more on:    england  |  west indies  |  eoin morgan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.