England bat in Women's World Cup final

2017-07-23 11:37
Cricket bat (File)

London - England captain Heather Knight won the toss and elected to bat against India in the Women's World Cup final at Lord's on Sunday.

Both teams were unchanged from their respective semi-final wins with England having narrowly beaten South Africa by two wickets, and India stunning reigning champions Australia by 36 runs on the back of Harmanpreet Kaur's remarkable 171 not out.


England: Lauren Winfield, Tammy Beaumont, Sarah Taylor (wkt), Heather Knight (capt), Nat Sciver, Fran Wilson, Katherine Brunt, Jenny Gunn, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Alex Hartley

India: Smriti Mandhana, Poonam Raut, Mithali Raj (capt), Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Sushma Verma (wkt), Shikha Pandey, Jhulan Goswami, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav

Umpires: Shaun George (RSA), Gregory Brathwaite (WIS)

TV umpire: Paul Wilson (AUS)

Match referee: Steve Bernard (AUS)

Read more on:    icc women's world cup  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.