England bat in only T20 against Pakistan

2016-09-07 19:38
Ben Stokes (Getty)

Manchester - England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to bat in their lone Twenty20 international against Pakistan at Old Trafford on Wednesday.

England fielded the same side that lost the World Twenty20 final to the West Indies in April, with all-rounder Ben Stokes playing his first match at this level since being hit for four sixes by Carlos Brathwaite in a dramatic last over at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

That meant there was no place in England's XI for Sussex fast bowler Tymal Mills, Durham quick Mark Wood and Kent batsman Sam Billings.

Wicket-keeper Jos Buttler returned from the hamstring injury that saw him miss the final two matches of the preceding one-day international series.

Fast bowler Hasan Ali, who took an ODI-best four for 60 in Cardiff on Sunday as Pakistan won the fifth and final match to avoid a series whitewash, was included in the Pakistan side on Wednesday, together with two Twenty20 specialists in opening batsman Khalid Latif and left-arm quick Sohail Tanveer.

This was wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed's first match as Pakistan's Twenty20 captain.

It was also Pakistan's last match of their tour, which saw them draw a four-match Test series 2-2, and England's final fixture of their 2016 home season.


England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett

Pakistan: Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt/wkt), Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanveer

Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG), Tim Robinson (ENG)

TV umpire: Rob Bailey (ENG)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    pakistan  |  england  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Your thoughts on the two-Test suspension handed down by the ICC to Proteas speedster Kagiso Rabada?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.