England bat first in must-win Mumbai Test

2016-12-08 07:29
Alastair Cook (Getty Images)

Mumbai - England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and chose to bat in the must-win fourth Test against India in Mumbai on Thursday.

LIVE: India v England, 4th Test

The visitors trail 2-0 in the five-match series and anything less than an English victory at the Wankhede Stadium would see India seal the rubber with a match to spare.

South African-born opening batsman Keaton Jennings makes his England debut in place of the injured Haseeb Hamed.

Jake Ball also comes in for England in place of Gareth Batty but pace bowler Stuart Broad has failed to recover from a strained tendon in time.

Virat Kohli's side made two changes to the team that thumped England by eight wickets in the third Test in Mohali.

Opening batsman Lokesh Rahul returns from injury and replaces vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane who suffered a fractured finger in a practice session on Wednesday.

Paceman Mohammed Shami, who recorded an impressive 5-100 in Mohali, misses out due to a sore knee, with Bhuvneshwar Kumar coming in.



Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Karun Nair, Cheteshwar Pujara, Lokesh Rahul, Parthiv Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav


Alastair Cook (captain), Keaton Jennings, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes, James Anderson, Jake Ball

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (AUS), Paul Reiffel (AUS) 

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    india  |  england  |  alastair cook  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following Ottis Gibson's firing, who would you like to see handed the new Team Manager role?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.