England win toss, bowl in New Zealand T20

2018-02-13 08:41
Sam Billings (Getty Images)

Wellington - England won the toss and elected to bowl against New Zealand in the fourth match of the Twenty20 tri-series in Wellington on Tuesday.

LIVE: New Zealand v England

England captain Jos Buttler said he wanted to see what his attack could do on an unpredictable looking drop-in pitch at Westpac Stadium that features huge bald patches.

"T20 lends itself to bowling first sometimes and obviously we're a bit unsure how it's going to play," said Buttler, who is standing in as skipper for the injured Eoin Morgan.

Seamers Liam Plunkett and Mark Wood return to England's attack as the team looks to bounce back from two defeats to Australia in their opening matches of the series.

"We're looking for an improvement with the bat, we haven't really given our bowlers scores to defend," Buttler said.

New Zealand have also lost once in the series to Australia, who have already qualified for the final in Auckland on February 21.

The hosts on Tuesday moved to shore up their batting by including former Hong Kong international Mark Chapman and big-hitting wicketkeeper Tim Seifert.

Captain Kane Williamson was wary about the wicket and said his batsmen would have to play "smart cricket".

"There's a few unknowns on the surface, it looks a bit different than usual," he said.

"It's important we try and get a read of the surface as quickly as possible and get stuck into our work."


New Zealand

Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (captain), Mark Chapman, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Seifert, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.


Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, James Vince, Jos Buttler (captain), Sam Billings, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood

Umpires: Wayne Knights (NZL), Shaun Haig (NZL)

TV Umpire: Paul Wilson (AUS)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Read more on:    england  |  new zealand  |  jos buttler  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.