Delhi Daredevils to bid for team in SA's T20 league

2017-05-26 08:25
Delhi Daredevils (AP)

Cape Town - The owners of Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise, Delhi Daredevils, have reportedly put in a bid to buy a team in Cricket South Africa's new Twenty20 league.

The Daredevils are owned by the GMR Group -  an infrastructural company headquartered in Bangalore - and have recruited several South African cricketers across the 10-season history of the IPL.

All-rounder Chris Morris and fast bowler Kagiso Rabada played for Delhi in the 2017 tournament, while leg-spinner Imran Tahir, batsmen Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers, seamers Wayne Parnell and Morne Morkel - and others - represented the franchise in previous editions.

The new tournament - currently billed as the #T20 Global Destination League - will feature eight city-based teams. The competition will start in early November and end on 16 December 2017.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) have received over 150 'expressions of interest' from potential owners, with about 40 percent from South Africa, 35 percent Indian - and smaller figures from the United Kingdom, United States and United Arab Emirates.

Pakistan Super League franchise, Lahore Qalandars, were initially interested in bidding for a team, but have ultimately forgone the opportunity.

"Cricket South Africa were asking for 50 million rand, for 10 years, for bigger cities like Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban - and 30 million over the same period for smaller towns. This with absolutely no financial forecasts, no television deal, nothing concrete around financial forecasting - and no clarity around player quotas," a reliable source told KweséESPN.

"Lahore's owners are smart businessmen - and simply could not go ahead with this ambiguity attached to such a big ask. They have not put in a bid. The Daredevils have, despite not knowing much information."

West Indian trio Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard and England's Kevin Pietersen - who have all previously played domestic T20 cricket in South Africa - are among the tournament's eight international marquee players.

The others are New Zealander Brendon McCullum, England pair Eoin Morgan and Jason Roy - and Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga.

The local marquee players are de Kock, de Villiers, Duminy, Rabada, Tahir - and batsmen Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis and David Miller.

Read more on:    csa  |  delhi daredevils  |  ipl  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.