CSA to confirm new T20 franchise owners

2017-06-15 16:21
Haroon Lorgat (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) is set to unveil its eight new franchise owners ahead of the first ever T20 Global League.

The tournament is set to kick off in November with the final taking place on December 16 and it is considered a vital cog in attracting financial investment to South African cricket. 

With the Indian Premier League (IPL) having celebrated its 10th edition in 2017 and with Australia's Big Bash flourishing, this is South Africa's attempt to lure the biggest cricketing names in the world to the country to deliver a product that can benefit from the international interest in T20 cricket. 

The process of applying for ownership and bidding for teams is long complete, and on Monday, June 19 in London - the day after the completion of the ICC Champions Trophy - the eight new franchise owners will be unveiled. 

In addition to the announcement of the owners, the host cities of the eight franchises will also be confirmed as well as which cities each of the eight marquee Proteas players will be based in. 

CSA originally confirmed that there had been over 150 expressions of interest from potential owners from all around the world with South Africa and India forming the bulk of the applicants. 

There have also been strong reports that the owners of the IPL's Delhi Daredevils have put in a bid to buy one of the franchises while Kolkata Knight Riders' Shah Rukh Khan has also been heavily linked with a franchise.

*Sport24 journalist Lloyd Burnard will be attending the launch as a guest of CSA...

Read more on:    csa  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.