CSA launches inaugural women's T20 Super League

2019-09-06 15:25
Dane van Niekerk
Dane van Niekerk (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) have launched the inaugural women's T20 Super League at the Tuks Cricket Clubhouse in Tshwane on Thursday.

The tournament is set to get under way on Friday, which sees four teams compete in six games played over three consecutive days at the Irene Country Club.

"We need to address the lack of game time and provide more competitive cricket for the Women's structure in order to produce quality cricketers and to improve the pool of players for National selection," says CSA Head of Pathways, Edward Khoza.

"The Super League is a concept that will be utilized to close the performance gaps of identified players and coaches within the CSA pipeline, introducing a minimum 3 x Super League weekends (strength vs strength) per season whereby players are drafted into 4 teams with the specific focus of preparing players for international competition."

A total of 52 players from various pools with the required skills set will take part in the Women's T20 Super League.

"This is a great way to shine a light on the growth of women's cricket which will provide more opportunities for female cricketers around the country who will ultimately be considered for national selection," explained Khoza.

The tournament format is set to mirror the Proteas Women's international schedule with this year's edition aiming at preparing the players ahead of the 2020 ICC Women's T20 World cup.

The second-leg of the T20 Super league will take place in Cape Town in December.

Team names and players: 


Dane Van Niekerk, Andrie Steyn, Zintle Kula; Mignon du Preez; Sinalo Jafta; Faye Tunnicliffe; Eliz-Mari Marx; Shabnim Ismail; Tumi Sekhukune; Nonkululeko Mlaba; Tshegofatso Rampai; Jane Winster; Anri Grobbelaar

Coach: Denisha Devnarain; Assistant coach: Dillon du Preez 


Lizelle Lee; Lara Goodall; Sune Luus; Izeabella Hester Cilliers; Marizanne Kapp; Delmi Tucker; Michaela Andrews; Christine Tomlinson; Zintle Mali; Evodia Yekile; Nadia Mbokotwana; Nicole De Klerk; Tebogo Macheke

Coach: Martelize vd Merwe; Assistant coach: Jimmy Kgamadi  

F. VD MERWE XI: Tazmin Brits; Robyn Searle; Nadine de Klerk; Gandhi Jafta; Trisha Chetty; Alyssa Elxlebben; Ayabonga Khaka; Moseline Daniels; Raisibe Ntozakhe; Khayakazi Mathe; Yolani Fourie; Carmen Nagel

Coach: Francois vd Merwe; Assistant coach: Mark Charlton 


Laura Wolvaardt; Annemarie Dercksen; Saarah Smith; Anneke Bosch; Chloe Tryon; Nondumiso Shangase; Verunissa Reddy; Masabata Klaas; Tatum Le Roux; Jade de Fiquerido; N Baneti; Nicolene Janse Van Rensburg; Palesa Mapoo

Coach: Claire Terblanche; Assistant coach: Ephraim Nyawo


September 6 - M. vd Merwe XI vs F. vd Merwe XI  - 9H30-12H40
September 6 - Terblanche XI vs Devnarain XI - 13h30-16h40
September 7 - F. vd Merwe XI vs Terblanche XI - 9H30-12H40
September 7 - Devnarain XI vs M. vd Merwe XI - 13h30-16h40
September 8 - Devnarain XI vs F. vd Merwe XI - 9H30-12H40
September 8 - Terblanche XI vs M. vd Merwe XI - 13h30-16h40

- Cricket South Africa

Read more on:    csa  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.