CSA announce the 2019 Women's Academy intake

2019-02-26 22:50
Vincent Barnes
Vincent Barnes (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday named the 2019 intake of the Women's National Academy.

It will run from June 2 to August 2 at the Powerade Centre of Excellence in Hatfield.

This year's intake comprises 14 of South Africa's most promising cricketers and will be the fourth academy of its kind since the programme's inception in 2016.

Since then, a large number of the Proteas women's team has been fed directly by the Academy.

Tumi Sekhukhune, Robyn Searle, Faye Tunnicliffe and Saarah Smith all made their international debuts in South Africa's tour of the West Indies in September last year after their winter stint at the Academy. All four went on to be selected for the ICC Women's World T20 (Tunnicliffe replaced the injured Trisha Chetty with the gloves).

Also last year, the South Africa women's emerging team, which was selected from the Academy intake played its first ever tri-series against England Women's Academy and the Australia Shooting Stars with impressive results, giving coaches a lot to look forward to.

"The Powerade Women's National Academy Programme forms a very strategic part of our developmental pipeline and has as its aim, to prepare young players for the demands of professional cricket. These selected players are carefully identified from our Provincial system. Last year's National Academy produced some exciting cricketers. Tumi Sekhukhune, Lara Goodall, Faye Tunnicliffe, Robyn Searle, Saarah Smith and Zintle Mali, who were part of the class of 2018 have all graduated to the Proteas Women's Team," said CSA High Performance Manager, Vincent Barnes.

2019 Women's National Academy:

Tazmin Brits (North West), Faye Tunnicliffe (Boland), Lara Goodall (Western Province), Saarah Smith (Western Province), Robyn Searle (Gauteng), Tumi Sekhukhune (North West), Zintle Mali (Border), Nonkululeko Thabethe (Gauteng), Jade de Figuerido (KZN Coastal), Nadia Mbokotwana (Western Province), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal), Gandi Jafta (Northerns), Evodia Yekile (North West), Nadine de Klerk (Northerns)

Coaching staff

Head Coach: Salieg Nackerdien

Ass. Coach: Dinesha Devanarain

Strength & Conditioning : Russell Clarke

Physiotherapist : Molebatsi Theletsane

Read more on:    csa  |  proteas women  |  vincent barnes  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.