Black Caps opt to bowl against India in 1st T20

2017-11-01 15:41
Kane Williamson (Gallo Images)

New Delhi - New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and chose to bowl first in the opening Twenty20 international against India in New Delhi on Wednesday.

Top-ranked New Zealand, who have never lost a T20 game against India in five completed outings, have picked two seamers and two spinners for the first of the three matches.

"It was a really good ODI series. Playing India in this part of the world is a stiff challenge. The boys are looking forward to it," Williamson, whose side lost the preceding one-day series 2-1, said at the toss.

India are set to bid farewell to veteran paceman Ashish Nehra, who finds a place in the starting lineup at his home ground Feroz Shah Kotla.

Batsman Shreyas Iyer has been handed his international debut in a team that fields three fast bowlers and two spinners.

Skipper Virat Kohli hailed 38-year-old Nehra's invaluable service to Indian cricket. The left-arm quick was part of India's 2011 World Cup-winning team.

"Nineteen years as a fast bowler is a great achievement. One of the smartest guys I've played with," said Kohli.

India: Virat Kohli(captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tom Bruce, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Umpires: Nitin Menon (IND) and Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

TV Umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more on:    india  |  black caps  |  kane williamson  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.