Black Caps bat against India in 2nd T20

2017-11-04 16:36
Kane Williamson (Getty)

Rajkot - New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat first in a must-win second Twenty20 international against India in Rajkot on Saturday.

The visitors, who trail in the three-match series 1-0, made two changes to the side beaten by 53 runs in the opening game.

Paceman Adam Milne and wicketkeeper-batsman Glenn Phillips make the XI in place of Tim Southee and Tom Latham.

"It looks like a good surface. It is important that we put up a good score and come out strong to defend it," Williamson said at the toss.

India made just one change to their starting lineup after giving veteran fast bowler Ashish Nehra a winning farewell to his playing career in Delhi on Wednesday.

Fellow pace bowler Mohammed Siraj has been handed his international debut.

"We always wanted to bowl first anyway. Not such a bad thing to lose the toss. The support staff came in last evening and spotted some dew on the outfield," skipper Virat Kohli said.

"The dew could be an advantage in the second innings for us."


India: Virat Kohli(captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tom Bruce, Glenn Phillips, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (IND) and Nandan (IND)

TV Umpire: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.