BCCI announces Border-Gavaskar dates

2016-10-21 09:54
BCCI (File)

New Delhi - The BCCI have released the fixtures for the Test series against Australia in February next year, taking no heed that it overlaps with a T20 series against Sri Lanka.

Australia will be playing the third T20 against Sri Lanka the day before the first Test is set to start in Pune, meaning the Aussie players who compete in both formats will miss the T20s.

The Border-Gavaskar series is spread out over late February to the end of March, with matches in Pune, Bangalore, Ranchi and picturesque Dharamsala. The likes of Steve Smith, David Warner, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Marsh and Josh Hazlewood are thus set to miss the T20s, in order to be in India.

The bulk of those players are also likely to stay in India after the Tests, as the IPL will start soon afterwards.


First Test: February 23 - 27, Pune
Second Test: March 4 - 8, Bangalore
Third Test: March 16 - 20, Ranchi
Fourth Test: March 25 - 29, Dharamsala

Read more on:    bcci  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.