Bangladesh win toss, bat against Australia

2017-08-27 07:25
Mushfiqur Rahim (AFP)

Dhaka - Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and opted to bat in the first Test of a two-match series against Australia at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Sunday.

Bangladesh left out Lion Das, Mominul Haque and Taskin Ahmed from their initial squad of 14 members.

It means Nasir Hossain will be playing his first Test in two years having last played against South Africa in 2015.

All-rounder Ashton Agar returned to Australian Test team after four years while the visitors also drafted in batsman Usman Khawaja.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Shafiul Islam, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman.

Australia: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Matt Renshaw, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Nigel Llong (ENG)

TV Umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZ)

Read more on:    bangladesh  |  australia  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Your thoughts on the two-Test suspension handed down by the ICC to Proteas speedster Kagiso Rabada?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.