Bangladesh recall Sabbir for NZ ODIs after ban reduced

2019-01-23 15:50
Sabbir Rahman (AP)

Dhaka - Bangladesh on Wednesday recalled middle-order batsman Sabbir Rahman for February's three-match one-day international series against New Zealand after reducing his suspension by one month.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board had suspended Sabbir for six months from international cricket in September for abusing a fan on social media.

But chief selector Minhajul Abedin said the BCB had informed them that Sabbir's suspension would be lifted at the end of the month, making him eligible for the New Zealand ODI series.

"So we had no problem in selecting him for the series," Minhajul added.

"His name was strongly recommended by the skipper (Mashrafe Mortaza)... Mashrafe wanted someone who could handle fast bowlers well in the lower order," he said.

Sabbir last played for Bangladesh against West Indies in July and August and has struggled in domestic cricket while serving his international ban.

The 27-year showed sign of returning to form only last week when he struck 85 off 51 balls during a Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 match for the Sylhet Sixers.

Bangladesh selectors also rewarded pacer Taskin Ahmed for an impressive show in the BPL with recall to both the ODI and Test squads.

Opening batsman Imrul Kayes, all-rounder Ariful Haque and pacer Abu Hider have been axed from the ODI squad while off-spinner Nayeem Hasan, who played two Tests against West Indies late last year, was also picked up for the ODIS.

Bangladesh will play three ODIs and three Test matches in New Zealand between February 13 and March 20.

Bangladesh ODI squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (Capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Somuya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Sabbir Rahman.

Bangladesh Test squad: Shakib Al Hasan (Capt), Mahmudullah Riyad, Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed, Khaled Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed.

Read more on:    bangladesh  |  sabbir rahman  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.