Bangladesh opt to bat v Sri Lanka in first Test

2018-01-31 07:03
Mahmudullah Riyad (Getty)

Chittagong - Stand-in Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah Riyad won the toss and elected to bat in the first of a two-Test series against Sri Lanka at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Wednesday.

LIVE: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, 1st Test - Day 1

Bangladesh, who are without injured all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, handed left-arm spinner Sunzumul Islam his Test debut but left out veteran Razzak, who was recalled to the squad after four years.

The second Test is in Dhaka, starting on February 8.



Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Das, Mehedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Sunzumul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Roshen Silva, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lakshan Sandakan, Lahiru Kumara

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  bangladesh  |  mahmudullah riyad  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.