Bangladesh opt to bat in 2nd West Indies Test

2018-11-30 06:37
Shakib Al Hasan (AFP)

Dhaka - Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and elected to bat first in the second and final Test against West Indies at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Friday.

Bangladesh went into the game without any recognised fast bowler as they dropped Mustafizur Rahman and replaced him with additional batsman Liton Das.

Shadman Islam will make his Test debut standing in for injured Imrul Kayes in the only other change to the squad from their 64-run win in the first Test.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim overcame concerns about his fitness to be included in the starting line-up.

West Indies replaced suspended Shannon Gabriel with right-arm pacer Sherman Lewis.



Shadman Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, and Nayeem Hasan

West Indies

Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Sunil Ambris, Shane Dowrich, Sherman Lewis, Jomel Warrican, Kemar Roach and Devendra Bishoo

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI)

TV Umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    west indies  |  bangladesh  |  shakib al hasan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.