Bangladesh ask Black Caps to bat 1st

2017-05-24 11:47
Mashrafe Mortaza (Getty)

Dublin - New Zealand will bat first in the final match of the Tri-Series after Bangladesh won the toss in Dublin and for the sixth time out of six chose to field on Wednesday. 

Bangladesh made one change from their last game with Nasir Hossain replacing Sunzamul Islam while New Zealand made three changes from the team that beat Ireland on Sunday to win the series with a third straight victory. 

In come Jimmy Neesham, Hamish Bennett and for the first time in the series Jeetan Patel, who has joined the squad from Warwickshire. 

They replace Scott Kuggeleijn, Adam Milne and Ish Sodhi. 

There was a minute's silence before the match in memory of the victims of the Manchester concert suicide bombing on Monday. 


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim (wkt), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain 

New Zealand: Tom Latham (captain), Luke Ronchi (wkt), Neil Broom, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Jimmy Neesham, Colin Monro, Mitchell Santner, Jeetan Patel, Matt Henry, Hamish Bennett

Read more on:    bangladesh  |  mashrafe mortaza  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.