Australia win toss, bowl against Windies

2016-06-05 19:53
Steve Smith (Gallo Images)

Providence - Australian captain Steve Smith won the toss and put the West Indies in to bat in the rain-delayed second match of the Tri-Nation One-Day International series at the Guyana National Stadium on Sunday.

West Indies have retained the same XI that defeated South Africa by four wickets in the opening match of the tournament on Friday.

On a pitch that is again expected to be low and slow, the hosts will be relying heavily on their slow-bowling options in the immediate aftermath of Sunil Narine's career-best returns of six for 27 to set up the upset win over the Proteas.

Playing their first-ever senior international fixture at Providence, Australia have also followed the lead from the opening fixture in playing two specialist spinners with leggie Adam Zampa joining the experienced orthodox off-break bowler Nathan Lyon.

Much attention though will be focused in the bowling department on left-arm fast bowler Mitchell Starc, who is playing his first international match for seven months following another injury setback to his already impressive career.

He goes into the series needing 10 more wickets before the end of the competition to surpass Pakistan's Saqlain Mushtaq as the fastest-ever to 100 wickets in One-Day International cricket.


West Indies: Jason Holder (capt), Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Carlos Brathwaite, Sulieman Benn, Sunil Narine, Jerome Taylor.

Australia: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    west indies  |  australia  |  steve smith  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.