Australia win toss, bat in India Test

2017-02-23 06:16
Steve Smith (Getty)

Pune - Australia captain Steve Smith won the toss and elected to bat against India in the first Test in Pune on Thursday.

The visitors have opted for just two spinners in Steve O'Keefe and Nathan Lyon in the playing XI on what seems like a typical turning Indian track.

"It's a very dry pitch, won't bounce. Looks different to the T20 games I've played here," Smith, who plays for the Rising Pune Supergiants in the Indian Premier League, said at the toss.

"Our preparations have been great, about executing our skills under pressure," Smith said of the much-anticipated four-match series.

Virat Kohli's India, who beat Bangladesh in a one-off Test earlier this month, have opted for three spinners at Pune's Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium.

Off-spinner Jayant Yadav was added to the starting line-up in place of seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

"I don't come to the toss expecting anything. These things you have to keep out of contention. Looking at it as a challenge ... Reverse swing will be a big factor," said Kohli.


India: Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

Australia: David Warner, Matt Renshaw, Steven Smith (captain), Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Steve O'Keefe, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Nigel Llong (ENG)

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more on:    australia  |  steve smith  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.