Australia opt to bowl in second India T20

2019-02-27 15:35
Aaron Finch
Aaron Finch (Getty Images)

Bangalore - Australia skipper Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to field first in the second and final Twenty20 international against India in Bangalore on Wednesday.

LIVE: India v Australia, 2nd T20

The tourists, who won the opening match by three wickets on Sunday, have fielded an unchanged side in their bid to sweep the series.

"Looks like a good wicket, so hopefully we can chase this down. We back ourselves to chase the target down," Finch said at the toss at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

"If at all there is going to be anything for the pacers it is going to be up front, so would like to exploit that."

India have made three changes to their starting lineup with Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar and Siddarth Kaul making the XI.

"We would have bowled first as well," captain Virat Kohli said.

"Like Aaron said it's a good wicket. Looks like the old Bangalore wicket and that's a good sign," he said.

"The bowling was outstanding (in the last match). We need to get used to playing big games."


Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Siddarth Kaul


Aaron Finch (capt), D'Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Handscomb, Ashton Turner, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa

Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (IND), C.K. Nandan (IND)

TV umpire: Nitin Menon (IND) 

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    aaron finch  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.